MSI Collections? (Bank of America)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

MSI Collections? (Bank of America)

Had a call today from MSI collections 4XX-XXX-XXXX XXXXXX....After speaking to Angela I faxed a settlement offer......anyone have any experience with this company? Anything to watch out far? Any suggestions?

Please do not put in proper names or phone numbers for legal reasons. Thank you.
    Last edited by AngelinaCat; 07-07-2009, 12:40 PM. Reason: Security
    File Date Feb 1, 2010
    341 Mar 8, 2010
    Discharged and closed May 10, 2010
    Being very careful and wise with fresh start!......Living happily ever after since!

I was researching the tax consequences and having second thoughts about settling. I am thinking of just sitting tight and seeing what they do? I am a Texas resident. I suppose the very worse is just phone calls and then finally suing me. I have 2 Discover cards that were charged off in February and have not received any phone calls or mail from them at all. What do you think?
    File Date Feb 1, 2010
    341 Mar 8, 2010
    Being very careful and wise with fresh start!......Living happily ever after since!

Comment

Dont fret the 1099, if you can prove you are insolvent to the IRS, you wont pay any extra taxes. People always forget to tell people about that part, instead, the try to scare you. And with proper documentation, the amount they would try to sell off to a different collection agency would be uncollectable, especially if they sue you, and you show up in court with your settlement paperwork from the original.

If you live in Texas, they could sue, but they cant collect from your wages, your state has garnishment laws that protect this. They could collect in other ways though, but not from your wages.

I would much rather have "settled" on my credit report, than have a active charge off, or have a BK reported for 10 years.

Why are you choosing to settle rather than file a bk?

Comment