Chase ASSIST

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Chase ASSIST

Got an "offer" in the maill today from Chase to participate in their ASSIST program to get me back on track and to lower my interest rate. Anybody talked to these people? I'm nervous to do so.

Credit card companies don't want to *help* you. But I have no experience with Chase's ASSIST program, so never mind me.
    Ch 7 Filed: 4/27/09
    341 Meeting: 6/11/09

Comment

Well atleast they're trying to make some attempt at keeping the debtor stuck in the hole.

What are your plans then if you don't wish to speak with them?

Comment

They're a real program...we did it before we realized we had to file BK. They took two of our Chase cards and put the interest down to 6% on both and had us making minimum payments of about $115/month on each (both balances exceeded $10K). problem is the program only last for 12 months and they'll want permission to take the payment from your banking account every month. They didn't give me a hard time when I cancelled the auto pays however. Just told them I was switching bank accounts and that I would call back with a new bank account. Of course I never did since I was filing.
        over $100K cc debt,$20K taxes,$332K mortgages/value $190K,surrendered
        Confirmed, $801/month 56 down,4 to go

Comment

i knew there was a catch, there always is!

Comment

Citi gave me a similar offer a couple of years ago. Only their offer was 0% for 12 months. After several months of attempting to make payments, I realized I was throwing good money after bad. It was NEVER going to get paid off.

If you are bankrupt, then paying unsecured creditors won't help your near-term financial situation.

If you choose not to make any arangements then you will have two bankruptcy scenarios.

1) FIle for protection under your state and/or federal BK laws and walk away after a discharge.