Bank Levies In Delaware Not Allowed?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bank Levies In Delaware Not Allowed?

In the cases where a creditor obtains a judgment , I believe I saw somewhere online that the State of Delaware does not permit banks in their state to levy bank accts....IRS debts and a few other government debts are allowed of course, but not creditors like CC companies.

Can anyone confirm if this is true?

10 Delaware Code 3502 is probably the code section you are referring to.

Pay no attention to anything I post. I graduated last in my class from a fly-by-night law school that no longer exists; I never studied or went to class; and I only post on internet forums when I'm too drunk to crawl away from the computer.

Comment

Originally posted by MSbklawyer View Post
      10 Delaware Code 3502 is probably the code section you are referring to.

http://delcode.delaware.gov/title10/c035/index.shtml

Thanks for that. I looked around online and wasn't finding anything..
      It looks like, according to the Delaware code, banks are exempt from garnishing/levying accounts.

Comment

Also more information here:

http://floridaassetprotection.blogs....l-delawar.html

A bank with online checking and with offices/branches only in the state of Delaware appear to be protected against non-government bank levys from a judgment, even if the depositor is out of state.
        Check with the bank to be sure they will accept out of state depositors.
        “When fascism comes to America, it’ll be wrapped in a flag and carrying a cross” — Sinclair Lewis

Comment

Originally posted by WhatMoney View Post
          Also more information here:

http://floridaassetprotection.blogs....l-delawar.html

A bank with online checking and with offices/branches only in the state of Delaware appear to be protected against non-government bank levys from a judgment, even if the depositor is out of state.