top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Judgement Questions, please answer if you know!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Judgement Questions, please answer if you know!

I'm new to collections, as a matter of fact, so new that I haven't experienced it yet. Last month was my last month paying on my credit cards. I'm devoting a whole year to pay off my husband's two cards so that when I file bankruptcy he will not be affected (well, hopefully not affected).

Anyway, this month I will start paying down his cards and not paying anything on mine for a whole 12 months. I have a few questions that I hope you guys can answer for me if I get sued:

1) Will I have to appear in a court close to THEM or will I have to appear in court close to ME, or do I have to appear in a court at all? I've never been to court so I'm really stupid when it comes to that.

2) I know they can garnish my wages, but can they levy my bank accounts? Would it be in my best interest to close my bank accounts and only have one opened for my husband in case this happens?

3) If they sued me, can I file bankruptcy before the judgement happens in order to avoid any attemts of garnishments or judgements?

Thanks for all your help, I'm at my wits end and I'm just trying to do whats best for me and my family. I really feel that if I can pay off my husband's small debts first we can salvage some of our credit and not all of it. Besides that, he is unwilling to help me file bankruptcy so I figure this is my only option. In 12 months I will be able to file chapter 13 and get my life back in order... such a relief!!!
    4/29/2011 - Filed Chapter 13, have to pay a massive payment each month!
    6/16/2011 - 341 meeting
    7/21/2011 - Confirmed!

They have to sue in your county court, if it gets to that. You don't have to appear if you don't plan to fight it. You can often slow things down quite a bit if you do fight, however.