need some help with apartment debt D:

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

need some help with apartment debt D:

I have no idea where to start with this. And if this is in the wrong forum I humbly apologize. ><

Last year, I broke the apartment lease and left eleven months early, as my sister who was splitting the rent with me, up and left after six months of personal issues, leaving me with 11 months of remaining lease. -_- (approximately $7000) Right after my sister left, before I up and left the apartment, I visited the company that leased the apartment, and explained the situation. They only said I could do a payment plan, and would have to pay for the rest of the lease. Now I barely made $600 a month, so hearing the company state such, in addition the the stress I was experiencing, was not to my liking and I fled.

The apartment was leased under my name only, in Washington State. I am still a resident there, but living in Iowa with my parents temporarily to get my life back on track. My sister refuses to help.

While I still have very little money, (I'm lucky if I get $500 a month and have absolutely nothing of value save maybe this laptop I'm on) I am in much better shape mentally than I was, and would like to know what my options are. I checked the credit report in September this year, but nothing had still shown up on it. And I can't look again until next year. At least at the free ones anyway.

Which is killing me, because I want to move with my spouse in Canada next year. I want to get this mess out of the way so any possible 'criminal checks' the Immigration bureau might do for breaking the lease/not paying are taken care of. Speaking of which, will things like this affect the immigration process? :c

Answers would be so much appreciated, I am so lost. ><