Foreclosure questions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Foreclosure questions

We are going to file Chapter 7 soon (with a lawyer). All along, we'd planned to keep our house. Our mortgage is very reasonable, we've never missed a payment or had trouble paying, and with all of the unsecured debt gone, would not have any issue paying.

Until now. I just got word that as of January 31, I am out of a job. I have known for a week, and have sent out resumes to 8 places already, with many, many more planned. I am pounding the pavement and am doing everything within my power to find a new job, but I am terrified of what will happen if I don't find a replacement job and have any sort of lapse in employment times. And, to make it worse, I cannot get unemployment because I was an independent contractor (self-employed). Once my paycheck stops, it STOPS.

I have been warned it can take two weeks to two months just to get a response from a resume being submitted, Friends have been out of work 1 to 2 YEARS and not for lack of trying to find work. If need be, I can do evening restaurant work or something, but it's not going to be enough to make ends meet -- we have three small children.

I'm just sick over this, and now we are figuring we need to let the house go. Primarily so we can bank the money we'd otherwise be paying to our mortgage so we have some money in the event that I am unemployed too long.

We need to figure this out relatively soon (and yes, I will be talking to my lawyer, but he's not available until next week) so I have a few questions:

- If you stop paying on your house during a BK, do you get two separate hits to your credit report (BK AND Foreclosure) or do they all fall under the BK?

- Anyone know about how long you can stay in your house after missing the first mortgage payment?

Help is appreciated. I am so scared that we are going to end up homeless soon.

If you file Ch 7 and surrender your house, you will have only one "hit" - the BK hit.