Help, just getting started with bk, house going to auction 6/10/11

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help, just getting started with bk, house going to auction 6/10/11

Help I am new at this and not understanding every thing.
    I just started filling out paperwork and getting everything together to take to a attorney last week and today I got a letter stating my house is going to auction 6/10/11.
    Sucks- I am 4 months behind (I have a friend that is 9 months and one that is 11 and nothing from there lenders) But any ways do I have to be moved out by the auction date? Someone told me it is different in every state- I am in Arizona.

Welcome to the forum!

No, you don't have to move out by auction date. Many a times (depends a lot on state/district/area) the sales get postponed, but don't count on it just yet...generally speaking, one doesn't have to move while the deed is still in their name, which can take a month or more after the actual sale...

If you file BK that will stop all foreclosure proceedings for a month or two, presuming you'd be filing Ch. 7 and surrendering the house. In case you're intent on keeping the house, you'd have to file Ch. 13 and include the mortgage arrears in your repayment plan.

Good luck.
    No person in their right mind files a Ch. 13 with lien strip pro se. I have.Therefore, please consider me insane and clinically certifiable when reading my posts, and DO NOT take them as legal advice of any kind.Thank you.

Comment

Possession is a powerful thing. You live in the house = you have possession. It doesn't matter if they auction it or not, you still have possession. Make them evict you.........
      All information contained in this post is for informational and amusement purposes only.
      Bankruptcy is a process, not an event.......

Comment