top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

newbie here, "official" intro and some thoughts...(long)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

newbie here, "official" intro and some thoughts...(long)

Hi, just thought I'd officially introduce myself here...my code name is applecake because it's fall and that's one of my fav desserts of the season. Even though apples are barely affordable anymore!!!!! Darn economy.

All this BK stuff is overwhelming and online is pretty much the only place I can really "talk" about it right now...Does anyone mind if I just kind of get this out in writing? I'd love to hear from those who can relate.

We have made the decision to file ch 7. Our income is about half of the limit, so we're good there. Between credit cards, a rental property, personal loans and one $%^%$#@ collateralized loan against the paid-off car, we will be unloading about $95K. (We make $40K/year before taxes.) This is largely due to our failed business, which we had to close this summer. Our heads were barely above water before the business went under, but now it's just like, file BK or drown. So we are filing. We talked to a couple lawyers and found one that we will be going with. But we haven't retained him yet or anything; we're in the process of gathering all the paperwork and that stuff.