Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

what may I expect if I stop making payments

Good morning - newbie here.
    History: For past year, been living with maxed out Credit Cards (CC) approx #12 store/bank cards at a total of about $65K. I've been making regular payments of the min or $5 or $10 more. HOwever, that has resulted in no money for living after paying mortgage, car payment and utilities. I've been using the small amount of credit balance after a payment to buy food, gas, and meager personal needs. I consulted with a credit agency and they indicated that a DMP would not work because required CC payments and bare necessity living expenses would exceed my monthly income.

I was told of BK 7 and BK 13 along with DMP and advised that since I have steady employment, the BK13 may be an option and I should consult with an ATTY. I pulled my credit reports last night and all accounts are in good standing, did no pull score.

I am stongly considering stopping use of all CC's and in order to have cash for food and gas, I am contemplating not making a payment on two or three of the bank or store cards monthly
    A.) What may I expect after one month of not paying, two months. I hear of aggressive contacts from the CC's, will that happen immediately, is it likely my other bank cards interrest would increase?
    B.) If I'm maxed out now on others and just make enough of a payment to cover monthly interest, i'll likely get hit by a fee for not paying enough and possibly another fee for going over credit limit due to the fees.
    C.) should I consider not paying for several months the same 2 or 3 or bounce around to others?

I expect to have more questions and have been searching and reading this forum. Found a good bit of info about the Chapter 13 process, but not much info on what I would be able to expect from now until the possible C13 process is in place should that be my avenue.

Appreciate feedback
    Cheers,
    Lou22