Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie - Need Advice

Hello All!

I am a 30 year old engineer who knows little to nothing about the subject matter at hand. I am looking for some friendly advice from those of you "in the know". Here is my story...

4 years ago my ex-wife (wife at the time) and I bought a family home for about $127,000. I did good upkeep, fixed a few things, and have kept the home in good shape.

2 years ago my wife left me for another man. I was dumb, had no lawyer, and got a less than perfect outcome. I took all the merital debt, including the home.

I have since met the woman of my dreams and re-married. I moved in with her. She currently owns her own home...but can barely make payments...and ONLY if the child support from her ex comes in.

My old house has been on the market for a year now...listed at 119,900, which will end up with me owing several thousand if I get the asking price. I have not even had a single nibble on it. Between my current wife and myself, we are paying over $2K a month in mortgage payments. Together we make less than $80K a year...and have three kids between the two of us. Needless to say, things are thin...and there is not a single glimmer of hope of selling my old house.

I have heard about three options...and some "facts" that go along with each of them. I don't know what is true or not, and don't even know where to begin. I just need to get rid of that house! The rest of our payments/etc. are in fine shape. We have only two modest car loans (one $4,000, and one $15,000, and no equity in either). We have no other debts except one credit card with less than $2K and some school loans from college.

1.) Foreclosure - how does this happen? Is this something I can ask the bank to do without missing a payment, or do I just stop paying? What are the consequences? If I miss payments, it hurts my credit more than if I don't right?