top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

When Do I Stop Paying My Mortgage/Bills? Or Do I?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

When Do I Stop Paying My Mortgage/Bills? Or Do I?

Hello All,

As a new member, I do realize that I am at the bottom of the food chain but if someone that had a situation similar to mine could help out I would be ever so grateful.

I have been juggling my finances around for about the past 6 months just to stay afloat but I feel the boat sinking now. We lost half of our income, took on two extra family members that had no place to go and had a 3rd child all within the last 2 years.

Right now, I am still current on everything but our monthly debt is greater than our income by about $1500. By the grace of God we've been able to manage by pulling from here and there and using next month's income to pay for this month's bills and so on and so forth.

Here is a quick rundown:

Mortgage - $2950 (Owe $440k, house worth maybe around that much)
    Car #1 - $540 (Owe $16k, car maybe worth same)
    Car #2 - $375 (1 year left on lease)
    CC #1 - $400 (Owe $20k)
    CC #2 - $450 (Owe $18k)
    CC #3 - $300 (Owe $26k, Already in a hardship payoff agreement)
    CC #4 - $100 (Owe $5k)
    CC #5 - $25 (Owe $1k)
    Utilities/Cell/Internet - $350

If it were you, would you stop paying the mortgage and use the money to keep you afloat on the CC's and save the rest. Hope that the mortgage co (PenFed) will work with you and help you lower your interest rate and payment. OR do you stop all the CC's so you have enough to pay the mortgage and just get by until either your income goes back up or you figure something else out. OR do you get rid of one of the cars and try to work our payment plans on your CC's so that you can save at least the needed $1500/month to continue to get by until situation improves.