Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help! Heading for Divorce...

Hello,

My wife has filed for separation and wants to move out of the house. We have $29,000 in credit card debt and we would take about a $22,000 loss on our house if we sold it. Her name is on $24,000 of it (she signed for the cards and I guess I am a cosigner). Anyways my income has been cut by 50% to 65% (I am a REALTOR comission only). Not to sound rude or trying to be free from any blame, but the main reason why we are seperating is because of out of control spending mostly on her part. I have made good money over the last 10 years but we still ended up staying in debt...we have refinanced the house twice to pay off cc debts and I even made the big mistake of taking $60,000 out of 401-K to pay off credit cards. As you can see a pattern of heavy spending. By refi'ing the house we have negative equity.

She now wants me to take the house with the negative equity, split the cards in half, and give her $900/month in child support which I simply can't afford unless I get from underneath the house. Again not trying to sound harsh but I have learned my lesson about spending and am in the process of completely changing my life but she does not want to admit or learn from this and live within her means. I feel that the only way that she will learn and not come to me to bail her out financially is to file for BK. I don't want to ruin her or hurt her. I just don't want to have to financially absorb her lifestyle the rest of my life. Questions:

Question 1: Should I file a Chapter 7 before or after I sign a seperation agreement? WHich way would be most beneficial to me?

Question 2: How will this affect her ability to get an apt or rental home? I want her to be able to b/c we have kids.

Question 3: Should I find an apartment first before I file and they take the house or will I still be able to get one?

Thanks for any input!