top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

I'm going to be filing bankruptcy but have concerns.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I'm going to be filing bankruptcy but have concerns.

I want to keep my house it's all I have. I am current with payments and always pay by due date. I started a business in 04 that failed. I had to use credit cards just to keep bills and food on the table. I've been working now since 2007 but can't get ahead. I wake up every night stressed. I'm tired and can't continue like this. I know it's my fault. My problem is this. My house is in my name but I have a HELOC on it that I am just the co borrower. I don't want to include this in my Bankruptcy but if I'm just the co borrower will they view that debt as the main borrower, not mine, and try to go after my house. It's my ex husband we got the loan while still married but I have made all the payments on the house from the start of the loan. I'm waiting on attorneys to call me back. But decided to check here first. I'm in Florida, I make under 20k a year. The house has very little equity in it. I have a lot of debt over 20k. Anyone know what will happen with the house?

A co-borrower is no different then if it was all in your name so you will have to list it as a debt. The difference is that if you BK, the whole debt falls on the other individual listed on the note.

What you may be able to do is reaffirm house. If the house is reaffirmed it would be as if it wasn't included in the BK and you just continue making the payments.
    Chapter 7 filed December 11, 2009, 341 Meeting held on January 7, 2010
    Deadline to File a Complaint: March 8, 2010

Discharged and Closed March 11, 2010

Comment