getting life insurance after Chap 7

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

getting life insurance after Chap 7

I got a few quotes on a life insurance policy. My friend is an agent with Nationwide. He mentioned he can get a better rate than what I was quoted.

Will there be a credit check? I don't want him to know about my BK.

Thank you!

typically there is no credit check with a life insurance application. I don't think you have anything to worry about. (I'm a licensed insurance agent and a financial planner).

N

Comment

Originally posted by nw138413 View Post
      typically there is no credit check with a life insurance application. I don't think you have anything to worry about. (I'm a licensed insurance agent and a financial planner).

N
      W-H-A-T....? Just about every life ins application of companies that are worth buying a life policy from ask's the question - Have you ever filed for Bk; or have you filed for Bk in the last 5 or 7 yrs? No credit check but certainly what is called a Personal History Insp, which can and does include some public records. You couldn't answer the Bk question "NO" without jeopardising your coverage should something happen to you and a claim be filed. This would be grounds for recinding a policy if within the first two yrs. To the OP, I'm not suggesting that you would answer this questions falsely, but you need to know that it is on most life applications.

Most companies that offer any type of decent rate on life ins coverage aren't going to issue a policy if you have been Ch 7 in the past 1-3 yrs and a few of the really tight cos go back 5 yrs from disch. The very few that do not ask the question are usually higher risk type rates (easy issue that accomodates some health issues and have higher rates) to begin with or very low face amounts of coverage as in final expense policies. But if you are talking 100K-250K and up, Bk is a BIG issue for at least 1 yr.