Would taking a lower paying position affect your filing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Would taking a lower paying position affect your filing

I'm absolutely at my wit's end with all of this. I am an independent contractor whose employer recently let me go and went with a service instead - with which I got hired by them - but doing same job for literally HALF what I was making before -- middle man gets what I was getting before. It's long hours - late nights until about 2:00 a.m. and still have to get up and get kids to school at 6:00. I HATE this job, but especially hate it even more now that I'm not making what I was. And I'm exhausted CONSTANTLY - health continues to suffer, etc.

My husband does have a good steady job, but he is gone, out of town gone, about 60-80 hours a week. We're both killing ourselves to try to make ends meet, and in the meantime, life is passing us by and our kids are growing up so fast. He misses so much of their lives, and it kills him. I'm here but so stressed out with work and our financial situation that I'm not being the mom to them that they deserve.

We've got to get out of this mess somehow, and I desperately want to be able to do a chap7 and just move on but so scared we won't qualify. If he voluntarily takes a lower paying position at his company that will put him home more, we can probably do it. If I quit my job, I KNOW we can. We're considering this LONG TERM. We're tired of working ourselves to death and just barely getting by - honestly just getting in deeper and deeper. I'm tired of my kids missing out on their parents' attention.

Would we be scrutinzed for this? I honestly just want a fresh start all the way around -- peace and relief from all of this debt, TIME to enjoy my kids and be a parent to them. We've even talked about just leaving this area as well and seriously starting all over (although the kids aren't thrilled with this - so probably not).