top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Filing Chapter 13, Can I take out a student loan?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Filing Chapter 13, Can I take out a student loan?

I will be filing chapter 13 soon (I hope). I turn in my bank statements & pay stubs to my atty monthly, to be ready when we have to pull the trigger on the bk. My income was reduced & was out of work for a while. I am trying to show that I have the income for a 13, I would like to try & save my home. My six month look-back does not look good to support a plan. However my income is starting to go back up. I am eligable for chapter 7 as well. I might have to do ch7 & give up my home, don't know yet.

I work in retail & I am also self employed. I want to be able to go to school and become a paralegal. (hopefully earn some kind of living wage).

I am eligable for finincial aid. I know this for a fact b/c daughter is starting College in August & has a free ticket. She will need to take out 1 small loan to purchase a clunker to get to school.

I would like to take out a student loan Stafford or Perkins for myself. In a ch 13 am I allowed to do that?
    I am afraid that I will end up a bag lady some day if I cant earn a living wage at a regular job. I know it sounds like I just want to rack up more debt, however, I just want to better myself and I am trying to figure out how to do this.
    Self employment income varies soooo much month to month. Regular job only pays 20,000 a year, (and I have a tremendous amt of responsibility @ this job) key carrier in big box retail. I am 47 yrs old and I cannot work @ this pace for the rest of my life. My goal is to earn 35,000+ benifits, at a regular job. My husband & myself have no health insurance, no life insurance & no money.