top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Do you talk to your banker first or a lawyer?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Do you talk to your banker first or a lawyer?

I'm new to this whole situation but can't deny the problems any longer. My husband's business just doesn't make enough money to pay the monthly bills or especially to pay down the huge loan amount. If we go talk to the banker and admit defeat basically, will he freeze the account which is already overdrawn? I don't even know where to start and feel so hopeless, especially since his widowed mother cosigned for $100,000. I assume she really will have to pay this?

Originally posted by leigha View Post
    I'm new to this whole situation but can't deny the problems any longer. My husband's business just doesn't make enough money to pay the monthly bills or especially to pay down the huge loan amount. If we go talk to the banker and admit defeat basically, will he freeze the account which is already overdrawn? I don't even know where to start and feel so hopeless, especially since his widowed mother cosigned for $100,000. I assume she really will have to pay this?
    You definitely want to talk to the lawyer first. Why give your creditors a head start on getting judgments, freezing accounts, seizing assets &c. ?

But if your banker does freeze your overdrawn account, so what? What's to freeze? Just don't put anymore money in there.

As for his mom, she may or may not really have to pay it. There could be 1000 things that factor in to answering that question.

Where you start is what you've already done: coming to grips with the fact that there is a problem. But you should understand, that bankruptcy offers relief from debt problems. Having insufficient income to pay your ongoing bills is an income problem that bankruptcy cannot address. Debt problems and income problems often go hand-in-hand, but they require different approaches.