Looks Like We're Finally Going to Do It

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Looks Like We're Finally Going to Do It

I am really grateful to have found this forum last night. I've been browsing through some of the folders and posts and wow...looks like the place I need to be right now.

Like many here, our situation is not much different. One of those, "In my entire life, never in a million years would I have dreamed we'd be doing this."

My spouse has been unemployed since May of '09. We are in our mid-late 40's, he came from a financial services career that spanned 25 years.

I've been running a business from home for 9 years, so who is going to hire me after not working in the traditional world for that long? Nobody.

He's applied to over 150 jobs since then and it's the same thing over and over... too qualified, over qualified, not qualified enough. He's even applied to janitorial jobs, cashier jobs at the ice cream store and clerk jobs at UPS... zilch, nada, nothing..."sorry, we decided to go with someone else."

We never thought he'd be out of work this long and quite frankly, I don't think anyone is going to hire him. Talk about degrading.

Let's face facts, businesses are not hiring mid-late 40's professionals because they're too expensive right now.

We are not 'stuff' people, never have been, heck I shop in consignment stores for clothes and have only 1 credit card (that was nearly paid off before all this!)

We built our house in 2005/06, just right before all this garbage hit the fan. In our subdivision alone, there's already 1 abandoned home, and at one point, 12 houses were for sale (out of 60 homes total). Some were on the market for as long as 2 years.

Savings are gone, retirement accounts wiped out, my business has struggled greatly because people are simply not spending money.