top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

So what would a government shutdown mean for the BK courts?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

So what would a government shutdown mean for the BK courts?

It looks like we are going to go through with another shutdown. I wonder what effect this would have on the BK courts. Does everything just go on hiatus?

Last time this happened, nothing changed. The court systems remained funded.
    Pay no attention to anything I post. I graduated last in my class from a fly-by-night law school that no longer exists; I never studied or went to class; and I only post on internet forums when I'm too drunk to crawl away from the computer.

Comment

The AP has some info in the story at the URL below. They didn't go into bankruptcy courts specifically but did have this to say about federal courts:

"Federal courts would be unable to hear cases as employees like clerks, stenographers, bailiffs, and security guards would not be at work."

In terms of bankruptcy courts, it's still kind of hard to determine what this might mean. I know my 341 meeting didn't have any stenographers, bailiffs, or security guards in the first place so maybe they'll still forge ahead?

Here's the URL for the whole story:
      OK - from now on it's not a "Bankruptcy." It's a "Weight Loss Program." I'm in. Sign me up.

Comment

It sounds like some cases in the Federal system would be affected. ??

http://money.msn.com/taxes/latest.as...e12977&_nwpt=1

Comment

I just heard on my local news that the BK courts in MI would close if there was a gov. shutdown.

Comment

Originally posted by BAR View Post
            I just heard on my local news that the BK courts in MI would close if there was a gov. shutdown.