Anyone "Settle" their accounts?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Anyone "Settle" their accounts?

I have been contemplating BK now for a few months. Not including my student and car loans, my husband and I have about 28k in unsecured debt. I am thinking about offering 30% settlement offers to all of my creditors as a last resort before filing. Of course, my terms are that they agree to not report any derogatory info to the credit bureaus.

I know many creditors will just say flat out "no". The "we do not negotiate" kind of attitude.....

Anyone know of some good techniques to use to get them to agree to such a proposal? Anyone with experience in this area, your advice is appreciated!

Thanks!

B

Taxes!!!!

Won't you be socked with taxes on that unpaid amount?

Comment

That would be reported to the IRS as income.
      "You once asked me for advice. You want some now? Never pass up a good thing." Lieutenant Jean Rasczak, Starship Troopers

Join the Mobile Infantry and save the world. Service guarantees citizenship.

Comment

Settlements usually have to be paid in full. Do you have $8,400 cash in the bank to make these settlements? And as has already been pointed out, the balance, $19,600, is taxed at 15-25% depending on your tax bracket. That's an extra $2,940-$4,900 in taxes. Do you have cash for that?

Comment

Yes, I can definitely pay them off within 3 payments for the bigger ones, the smaller ones I can pay off in 1.

My husband and I are both independent contractors and times have been schlim for the past 2 years (to say the least). Things are looking up now, and if I can salvage our credit rather than file BK, I am all over it.

My rationale is, we would definitely pay the price of higher interest rates if we file a BK. And that's IF we can even get approved for a loan!

We are FTHB, so I want to leave as many options available to us as possible. If we can make this happen I want to.