top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Might end up having to file BK here soon, do I have other options?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Might end up having to file BK here soon, do I have other options?

Hi,

Never thought I'd get to this point in my life but it seems my wife and I are morons when it comes to money. I feel that way anyhow.

We've never really had much debt, ~30k across 2 cars and maybe 2-5k in credit cards. We have considerably more now, close to 90k debt, no real estate. Well, I found out recently my contract is disappearing in May, and my company is doing "scheduled layoffs" until then. I have lived in expensive-as-Hell DC suburbs for the last 2 years with my current position. I do not have a college degree and only my job experience to back me up, I've been applying for jobs for about 6 months now with no success. I do not want to get stuck up here without a job and without a way to pay for a move. So we are planning a move to Florida where we used to live where we can easily find jobs and a place to live and not pay out the ass for rent.

The problem with that is obviously a decreased income. I have 3 positions available to me in Florida, one pays almost nothing($8.5/hr), one pays decent($12/hr) and the third pays a little bit more (I think $15/hr). Job #3 is not constant money though, it fluctuates and requires travel.

We're pretty much in debt to our knees, and if I take a pay cut like that (currently making $28/hr and the wife $22/hr) even with the reduced cost of living there is no way on Earth we are going to be able to keep up with car payments, and all our stupid little bills.

One part I'm worried about is I very recently got a consolidation loan for as much as I could, which covers "most" of my CC's, but not all. If I file for bk soon it's going to look like fraud... I'm starting to freak out.