Bussiness Loan in default

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bussiness Loan in default

I have a business loan that I personally guaranteed. As of Jan I am not able to continue to afford the payments. (closed doors 10 months ago). I am going to have to file BK to get rid of this debt. From what I understand is if a lien is placed against you prior to filing it will stay thru the BK.

1) I am wondering how long until a lien can be placed against my home.

2) Does the bank first have to liquidate all assets before they can place a lien?

I am looking to file in Apr...am I losing sleep over this for no reason.

They can not file a lien until they get a judgment. If January was your first missed payment it is unlikely they could get one be April. Even if they do your attny can get the judgment vacated.

Comment

I'm not a lawyer but have similar situation and have a lawyer. Hire one immediately. I have multiple guarantys. One loan went into default over a year ago and the law suit against guarantors wasn't filed for over a year. 1st the creditor must send a demand letter asking you and the debtor/borrower to pay the loan and interest. They may offer a settlement. If you dont reach agreement, they will serve you with a lawsuit threatening to go to court to request summary judgment which they usually win unless your lawyer has a good case for dismissal. They can file the judgment immediatly or enter into a negotiation with you whereby they threaten to actually file the judgment unless you can reach a settlement within specified time period. If they file, the lien is placed on your real property in short order: I don't know how short. You can threaten to file bk to force them to settle if they think they'll get more in a settlement than they'll get in bk, which costs them money and can take time. Unsecured creditors fear bk. Even if a lien is filed, your attorney can have it dismissed when you file bk. It depends on whther you have other unsecured creditors