Ex wife filing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ex wife filing

I have a question about post-divorce bankruptcy filing. When my divorce was finalized, I had my wifes name removed from the house title but not from the mortgage. If she files bankruptcy and her name is on my mortgage, is the court able to come after me for any money? This is her only "debt" that I share.

I take it you are living in the house, so she will discharge her portion of the debt. This means that she just won't be liable for the debt and you will have the sole responsibility for it.

Comment

Is this something she does voluntarily? She wants to mess me up due to other issues in the divorce and probably will not do that unless she has to.

Comment

I am fairly new to all of this but my understanding is that she will have to list all her debt. The house would be considered one of her debts.
        Filed 5/11/09 Chapter 7
        341 Meeting 6/5/09
        Discharged 8/5/09
        Case Closed 8/6/09

Comment

If she files, she must include all debt. I don't think there is any way a trustee would let her reaffirm that debt since she doesn't own the property. For her, this is an unsecured debt and she won't be liable for it if she gets a bankruptcy discharge.

Comment

Was payment on the house part of a spousal support agreement? It is my understanding that some debts, including formal spousal (and of course child) support obligations live through the BK process. But if it was just a normal division of assets with no specifications for spousal support, you are probably out of luck if she files. You won't owe any more on the house than you currently pay, just she is no longer obligated to make any of the payments towards the house anymore.
            Filed CH 13 September 17, 2007
            Plan Modified July 8, 2009 from $1100/month to $400/month due to change in income, finally discharged in July of 2013!

Comment