Capital One buying HSBC/Orchard Bank..what it means

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Capital One buying HSBC/Orchard Bank..what it means

A friend of mine who works for Capital One recently told me that as of May 1st, Capital One had purchased the credit card dept of HSBC, which includes many cards that are popular for rebuilding credit i.e Orchard Bank.

Some looking to establish credit after a discharged BK may be limited to either Cap One or Orchard, but likely not both.

Just wanted to pass the info along
    Ch 7 filed 8/15/11 341 9/22/11 Discharge 11/28/11
    The rebuilding begins

Wow! I have a Capital One MasterCard, HSBC Orchard Bank MasterCard and an HSBC Best Buy MasterCard. I wonder if they will try and consolidate them to one card.

Comment

Hmmm. That could limit rebuilding for many people.

Originally posted by Bell30656 View Post
      I wonder if they will try and consolidate them to one card.
      I wonder if HSBC will now give a CL increase of more than $100. LOL
      ~~ Filed Over Median Income Chapter 7: 12/17/2010 ~~ 341 Held: 1/12/2011 ~~ Discharged: 03/16/2011 ~~
      Not an attorney - just an opinionated woman.

Comment

Not sure but I had an old HSBC CC that was included in my 7 that discharged, and this pretty much confirms I wont attempt to get addtional credit from them(cap 1)
        The rebuilding begins

Comment

I got my letter on Monday – I wasn’t paying attention to this particular cc to cc purchase so I had no clue that HSBC sold its accounts.

Letter says last year HSBC announced plans to sell most of US CC accounts – Orchard Bank, Household Bank, Direct Merchants and several other brands – sale was completed 5.1.2012.

I will continue to use my Household Bank card till it expires – and payment addresses and online payments will remain at the HSBC website only. The letter addresses if I have a Cap1 and HSBC card can they or will they be combined or consolidated – the answer is no – not at this time.