Value of Home

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Value of Home

I am pretty sure I owe more on my home than it's worth right now (I am a former real estate agent)....but it's close, within maybe $6K.

Am I going to have to get a certified appraisal done to confirm this?? Or, is there another way the courts will varify the value?

Thanks for all the info!

If you are trying to show the 1st is upside down in order to strip a 2nd, and its close, you may want a valid appraisal. If you're just trying to show that the current equity is within your homestead exemption, I don't think you'll need much documentation unless your state has a very small homestead exemption.

Edited to add:

I see you're in FL. I believe FL residents are able to use an additional personal property wildcard if they are not using the homestead exemption. And FL's normal personal property exemptions are pretty stingy. So if you have no equity and need to protect other items (cash, vehicle equity, etc.) then being able to prove your home is upside down could be in your favor.
    Get mortgage modified: DONE! 7 months of back interest payments amortized, payment reduced over $200/mo
    (In the 'planning' stage, to file ch. 13 if/when we have to.)

Comment

I am in a similar situation. Appraisal came in $6k below what we owe on the first. We did get a nice pre filing gift though... Our tax assessment came in $10k below what we owe on our first!

If you do need to get an appraisal, get it as close to your filing date as possible. The value as of your filing date is what matters.

Comment

I had to get an appraisal to strip the 2nd mortgages. It was required and the only way to get it done.

Comment

My attorney said we can use free online valuation sources and my assessed value (the county lowered assessed values across the board last year). But, I'm a lot more than $6,000 underwater on the first. Your attorney will know what is required in your district and by your situation.