Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New job credit check?

Hi,
    We just filed Chapter 13 bk and I am interviewing to change jobs. Sometimes before an offer the employer asks for a credit check and drug test. In the past I have not worried about this, but I am wondering if it will effect a job offer. I work in the computer field.

Should I tell them about it up front and explain that we are in a repayment plan, or just not worry about it???

Please share any experience that you have with this matter.

I have no direct experience in this area. The consumer credit report is usually run to check out public information about you, and not so much your credit. There is an exception where you will be working in a fiduciary capacity, in a financial services company, or other positions where national or local security is at hand.

I remember when I was consulting a major U.S. Bank and had to be fingerprinted and credit ran. This is when I had a 600 middle credit score. No problems! I think they are looking for judgments and other nasties (public records) contained in your credit file. It wasn't so much that they were looking for a credit score. It's also a great way to validate certain information.
    Chapter 7 (No Asset/Non-Consumer) Filed (Pro Se) 7/08 (converted from Chapter 13 - 2/10)
    Visit My BKForum Blog: justbroke's Blog

Any advice provided is not legal advice, but simply the musings of a fellow bankrupt.

Comment

Thanks so much Justbroke, I feel better hearing this from you. My credit score is currently 660. I have been tracking it through the process.

Comment