Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Rent may increase $200-$300, what to do about trustee payments

Hi:

I currently am paying my trustee $758/months and at the time of me filing for BK, my rent is $800 and I've been paying that for 5 years. I was renting a condo from a friend, but he has decided to sell the place.

I need to find a new rental, but there are no decent places (safe areas) for $800. If I find a place that is $200-$300 more, should I talk to the trustee and make a modification on my trustee payment? It should go down right?

I would start now by talking with your trustee, or your attorney if you have one, and let everyone involved, know that your situation will be changing. You don't have to give specifics now, as you don't know what your rent will be. But as soon as you do know, inform them of that. You must keep your trustee informed of any changes in your situation that will affect your ability to make your payments.

You said you have been making payments for five years. Aren't you about through with your Chapter 13?
    "To go bravely forward is to invite a miracle."

"Worry is the darkroom where negatives are formed."

Comment

Originally posted by huskydawgs View Post
      Hi:

I currently am paying my trustee $758/months and at the time of me filing for BK, my rent is $800 and I've been paying that for 5 years. I was renting a condo from a friend, but he has decided to sell the place.

I need to find a new rental, but there are no decent places (safe areas) for $800. If I find a place that is $200-$300 more, should I talk to the trustee and make a modification on my trustee payment? It should go down right?
      Husky, you have to talk to your attorney to see how this is best handled. (Did you file pro se?)
      Here is a link to the thread that you created last month about this, and the responses, in case you forgot about it: http://www.bkforum.com/showthread.ph...y-rent-goes-up