settle 2nd mortgage question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

settle 2nd mortgage question

Has anyone here on this forum ever had success settling with Suntrust Bank on a 2nd mortgage after filing chapter 7?

why wasn't that taken care of with the bk?

Comment

Originally posted by mbmullen View Post
      why wasn't that taken care of with the bk?
      Because you can't strip a second mortgage in Ch 7. Lien strips can only be done in Ch 13.
      I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice nor a statement of the law - only a lawyer can provide those.

06/01/06 - Filed Ch 13
      06/28/06 - 341 Meeting
      07/18/06 - Confirmation Hearing - not confirmed, 3 objections
      10/05/06 - Hearing to resolve 2 trustee objections
      01/24/07 - Judge dismisses mortgage company objection
      09/27/07 - Confirmed at last!
      06/10/11 - Trustee confirms all payments made
      08/10/11 - DISCHARGED !

10/02/11 - CASE CLOSED
      Countdown: 60 months paid, 0 months to go

Comment

Originally posted by lrprn View Post
        Because you can't strip a second mortgage in Ch 7. Lien strips can only be done in Ch 13.
        What exactly does "strip a second" mean? ...does that mean a second cannot be discharged in a chapter 7, assuming you do not want to keep the house?

Thanks

Comment

what if your first already foreclosed and the second is coming after you for their balance. That makes it unsecured and it can be wiped out??

Comment

Ryan,