Ch 7 Non-Consumer debt case & Fraudulent transfer

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ch 7 Non-Consumer debt case & Fraudulent transfer

I need advise...I am being told by my atty that the trustee after my 341 meeting this week may file a fraudulent transfer case...here are the details:
    I have been helping my fiance cover her monthly expenses for the last 2 years due to her unemplyment and can show each month where the money I have given to her has gone to pay her living expenses. Does this sound like a grounds for fraudulent transfer?

Depends...

1. How much money are we talking about?
    2. During this 2 years, were you paying your debts?

You will want or read bankruptcy code section 548. Fraudulent transfer does require "intent" to hinder, delay, or defraud an entity (e.g. creditors). Given the circumstances, that may be difficult to prove in the situation you describe, but that doesn't necessarily mean the trustee won't try. But, it sounds like a long shot.
    Last edited by HHM; 03-04-2012, 06:59 AM.

Comment

Over the last 2 years it was probably $30,000, but I was never late on any payments to any creditors. The reason I filed ch7 bk was because of a default judgement that was entered 2/2011. This judgment was not pursued until 10/2011 and I can't pay the large amount of the judgment so I filed ch7 on 1/2012. At the time I filed I had about $25,000 in cc debt but was current on all payments.
      To me, since I always paid my creditors, I don't think it would be considered fraudulent transfer.
      Not that it matters but we did get married last October.

Comment

Originally posted by HHM View Post
        Depends... 1. How much money are we talking about? 2. During this 2 years, were you paying your debts? You will want or read bankruptcy code section 548. Fraudulent transfer does require "intent" to hinder, delay, or defraud and entity. . .