When are they notified?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

When are they notified?

Does anyone know when the auto finance company is notified about the filling for bankruptcy? Is it immediate? or is it after the 341 meeting? Also, how do they find out if they are not on the mailing matrix?
    Last edited by AngelinaCat; 05-04-2012, 04:30 PM. Reason: Correct the wording in the title. Please use full words; we don't do texting shorthand here. Thanks! :)

I know mine found out as soon as my attorney filed, he has to notify all of our creditors. So in my case they found out w/in a few days of filing. But then as I understand it an automatic stay goes into effect where they can not do anything for a period of time (collect or repo your car)...i want to say 3 months but I'm not sure....I am sure others will know! I'm pretty new to all this!

Comment

Creditors are notified right away when filed based on who was listed. If the creditor was not on the mailing list they will typically then find out via a review of your credit report on their normal schedule. Not sure that answered your question.

Comment

Why aren't they on the mailing matrix?
        LadyInTheRed is in the black!
        Filed Chap 13 April 2010. Discharged May 2015.
        $143,000 in debt discharged for $36,500, including attorneys fees. Money well spent!

Comment

Because the car will either be reaffirmed or redeemed. Only will have about 5 more payments to go. We just didn't know if they repo'd during the automatic stay. I heard that some do.

Comment

All creditors you owe money to must be listed regardless.

Comment

With all due respect Hause, could you please refrain from using "text type" here? This is a forum - not an iphone. Thanks!
              ~~ Filed Over Median Income Chapter 7: 12/17/2010 ~~ 341 Held: 1/12/2011 ~~ Discharged: 03/16/2011 ~~
              Not an attorney - just an opinionated woman.

Comment

Okay. Didn't know that. Thanks for the info everyone.

Comment