top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Questions about filling out my bankruptcy forms.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Questions about filling out my bankruptcy forms.

Hi, all. As you know, I have just lost a lawsuit by Gurstel Chargo/Discover Bank, and I have decided that now is the time to file. I am an unemployed full-time student, and I simply don't want the stress and hassle of dealing with these debts to impact my academic performance, and since I am expecting to graduate in December, I don't want my very bad credit to affect my job prospects.

I have no money to pay an attorney, so unfortunately, I am doing this myself. I purchased the NOLO book "How to File for Chapter 7 Bankruptcy" and downloaded the PDF forms from the bankruptcy court's website.

Now, the questions I have are:

1) On the actual petition, Form B1 (Voluntary Petition), there is a section "Certification by a Debtor Who Resides as a Tenant of Residential Property". None of the options there apply to us. We have always paid our rent on time, and don't want the apartment complex notified of the bankruptcy. Can I leave this part blank?

2) For my Schedule B4 (List of Creditors Holding 20 Largest Claims) and Schedule E (Creditors Holding Unsecured Priority Claims) , how do I deal with debts which are sold to JDB's or assigned to collection agencies? With regard to my judgment from Gurstel Chargo/Discover Bank, do I list the entire debt as owing to Discover, or do I list the principal part as a debt to Discover Bank, and the attorney's fees and court costs which were added to the judgment as a debt to Gurstel Chargo? Do I list the original creditor for sold or assigned debts here and the collection agency or debt buyer?