No announcement yet.

What would you do in this situation?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question What would you do in this situation?

First, an introductrion, I'm a long-time lurker who has learned so much from the posts here. I have probably spent at least 100 hours here in the last month. Good stuff.

Second long story but I will try to be brief, my situation is a little scary for some of your veterans. I filed ch. 13 pro on Feb 2. I had to file immediately to stop a foreclosure on a home that I owned for more than 12 years. I am an unemployed grad student living out of state with a home that I leased to own to a neighbor. For a year, the leaser paid the mortgage and life was good. In Sept, he stopped paying but I wasn't noticed until December when I received the foreclosure notice. In 45 days, I had to evict him and his kids during the holidays and exams from afar. With only a week left before the auction, I was advised to file bankruptcy to get the stay. I quickly read up and filed the petitions pro se because I did not have time or money or hire an attorney. I have about 25K equity in the house and placed it for sale but didn't expect sale before June. Two weeks later received an offer for almost full price offered. I have 30K in cc debt, house owe 88K, car 8K, 40K in student loans (sounds horrible in writing). I have 341 on 3/17 and have filed a motion to sell but fear that trustee will keep all funds.

Should I dismiss now? What are the likely consequences? Anything I should have done different?
    Disclaimer: I know no one can give legal advice and I cannot see an attorney because I cannot even get a free consultation answer. I've tried. I will consider all response as worth what I paid for. Thanks in advance.

Tough question. I'll answer it as what I would do if I were in your shoe's. Keep in mind I am by no means an expert in this and as you said, the advise is what you paid for it. I'm sure others will give you their input.