Living life in Chapter 13 versus Chapter 7 - compare experiences

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Living life in Chapter 13 versus Chapter 7 - compare experiences

I am new to this as my Chapter 13 341 meeting isn't until early August (just filed a week ago). So that being said my experience with bankruptcy has just been born.

Others could be in various stages of a 7 or 13 or could be done and could have actually really experienced a 7 and 13. So how do the differences in a 7 versus 13 effect the experiences one has as they travel the path of bankruptcy?

This is almost an impossible question to answer because the facts and circumstances for each of us are different (no two are alike) so it's as much a hypothetical question as one based in reality.

I've been through both (Chapter 13 for 2 years, converted to a Chapter 7). There is no real comparison. A Chapter 7 is typically done within 90-120 days and there is usually nothing more formal than the 341 Meeting, waiting 60 days, and being discharged. A Chapter 13 can last from 36-60 months, and in some jurisdictions, even longer (depending on how they count "plan" lifetime). A Chapter 13 requires confirmation and that typically doesn't happen for at least 4-6 months and even longer in certain cases!

Think of a Chapter 13 like this; it's like taking 180 credit hours of classes over a period of 4-5 years, and earning your degree. Think of a Chapter 7 like this; it's like taking a single course over one semester in college, and getting that same degree. (Best analogy I could come up with!)
    Last edited by justbroke; 06-27-2011, 02:39 PM.
    Chapter 7 (No Asset/Non-Consumer) Filed (Pro Se) 7/08 (converted from Chapter 13 - 2/10)
    Visit My BKForum Blog: justbroke's Blog

Any advice provided is not legal advice, but simply the musings of a fellow bankrupt.

Comment

Originally posted by justbroke View Post