Health care new rules and BK

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Health care new rules and BK

I have been asking this question to myself, and wonder if anyone asks it here, and what the answer is:

I was told not to go BK due to the fact that I was poor, jobless, and did not have health insurance. Getting a job with health insurance seemed to be a major reason not to go BK because you never knew if you would have a broken leg or heart attack and the BK meant you had to wait for 7 years before going BK again, so you might end up owing 100,000 for a medical situation when the original amount you owed was 20,000.

So, in 2014, low income people will be allowed to join "pools" or if they are too poor, possibly get expanded Medicare. I am being allowed class 5 Veteran's benefits because I am a low income Veteran, so essentially, the argument about not going bankrupt is a moot point with me.

Does "Obama Care" mean that many more people who have been forced to avoid BK can now go BK?

BK clears the slate, but one thing that I have not heard much is the benefit of allowing people not to artificially keep their incomes small so that creditors do not have the ability to garnish their wages. BK would actually mean "hope" for some of these poor people. They could start making a little more money, and perhaps live better lives, not only because they have insurance, but also because they can make more money, and repair their credit.

Has anyone thought about this?
    Not all those who wander are lost....

--J. R. R. Tolkien

Yup, I think about it all the time.
    Problem is it's so hard to get an idea of what to do to get this care. Nobody seems to know anything.
    Anyway, it's one of the things we are waiting for.

Keep On Smilin'

Comment

actually, yes, i have.

first...medicare is for the elderly........you CARE for the elderly
      second...medicaid is for the poor.......you AID the poor

so it would be a form of medicaid.