does anyone still do subprime loans?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

does anyone still do subprime loans?

We were looking to get a mortgage for 65,000 and have been calling around everywhere to no avail. We have a 20% downpayment and our scores are around 620. Discharge was earlier this month. We have already paid but open accounts that remained through bankruptcy. Is it way too early?

ETA: We are not looking for a subrime only. We just figured thats what would be available to us currently.
    Last edited by persephone; 03-28-2008, 07:43 PM.

Originally posted by persephone View Post
    We were looking to get a mortgage for 65,000 and have been calling around everywhere to no avail. We have a 20% downpayment and our scores are around 620. Discharge was earlier this month. We have already paid but open accounts that remained through bankruptcy. Is it way too early?

Okay, I am no expert on home loans but why would you want a subprime? Isn't that the type that's gotten middle America into the whole foreclosure mess? I personally know people affected by this, but don't know the gory financial details, other than their payments skyrocketed to what they can't afford.

ep
    California Bankruptcy Central

Comment

Originally posted by epiphany View Post
      Okay, I am no expert on home loans but why would you want a subprime? Isn't that the type that's gotten middle America into the whole foreclosure mess? I personally know people affected by this, but don't know the gory financial details, other than their payments skyrocketed to what they can't afford.

ep
      Its not that we WANT one. We just figured that the subprime would be the only ones allowed for us so soon out of bankruptcy. We prefer a regular loan. We would accept a subprime until we can refinance into a regular one.

Comment