top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How soon after Ch 7 did were you able to purchase?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How soon after Ch 7 did were you able to purchase?

If you filed Chapter 7, and then obtained a mortgage after - how did you have to wait?

I mean - how soon after your your Ch. 7 was complete? lol

Comment

Originally posted by Priscillia View Post
      I mean - how soon after your your Ch. 7 was complete? lol
      Normally it would be 2 years minimum out of a CH 7 bk. From what I understand, it would be 3 years from a CH 7 with a foreclosed home when applying for a mortgage. Posters, please chime in if I am not correct regarding the foreclosed homes in CH7 when obtaining a mortgage. I have been a tenant for a long while so I have had no experience with foreclosing a home. I have owned homes long ago though!
      Chapter 13 filer since Feb. 2018 under a 60 months payment plan
      Please think positive and do not give up!

Comment

The problem with this question, most people on this forum are not in a position to rebuy, and those that might be, (who filed BK over two years ago) tend to drop out of participation.

Thus, all you can go by are the published lending guidelines. 2 years after chapter 7 BK, but there are other variables that will come into play, (i.e. your payment history prior to BK, etc).

Comment

You can speak to a mortgage lender on what they are finding when people apply with pst BK's. It does not hurt to ask. When and if I decide to buy a house I will make sure htat I have a pretty big down payment. That way I will have a better chance of getting a mortgage loan.
          Chapter 7 filed on 4/23/2010
          341 meeting on 5/28/2010
          Discharged on 8/19/2010

Comment

2 yrs from 7
            3 yrs from foreclosure
            0 days from 13