top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

can i get a home after foreclosure and chapter 7 bk?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

can i get a home after foreclosure and chapter 7 bk?

hello to all who read this post.
    i'm coming on the 3 yr mark since my home was foreclosed on. april 2011. it was actually transferred out of my name may 2008.
    my chapter 7 bk followed shortly thereafter and was discharged august 2009. so my 2yr wait will be official in august 2011.
    many will say i'm crazy but i really would like to become a homeowner again. i've been renting since october 2007 and all my experiences have been awful.
    i have rented 2 homes from private owners who take your rent money every month but refuse to make any repairs or upgrades to their properties.
    and now i'm renting from a gated apartment community which is supposed to be one of the nicest in my area, but my car was stolen less than 30 days after i moved into it!
    i know this will not be an easy task but i think i'm ready for the journey. i invite anyone to come along with me.

Strictly speaking, the answer is yes. Your only options will be FHA or VA (if you have VA eligibility). However FHA's are becoming a little more expensive because Mortgage Insurance Rates are rising. You will need a minimum of 3.5% down, but the more the better. Also, new rules either just came out or are going to come out about the ability of the seller to pay certain expenses.

But, if your credit has recovered, and you have a down payment, it really shouldn't be too much of a problem. The challenge will be finding a mortgage broker willing to work with you.
    Last edited by HHM; 04-02-2011, 05:55 AM.

Comment

here's where i am today:
      income 42000/yr
      debt 172/mth
      2 cc/open:never late:
      1 personal loan used to purchase vehicle:doesn't report on credit rpts but is taken from checking acct montly