Confused....question about forclosure after discharge

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Confused....question about forclosure after discharge

Hi all - Chase has just sent our house to a foreclosure atty. We were discharged almost 3 years ago and did not reaffirm our first or 2nd mortgage (second isn't with Chase). If our house is foreclosed on, do we have to wait 2 years before we can apply for a FHA loan or since the mortgage is no longer on our credit report will we be able to apply sooner?

Does that make sense? We would like to keep our home for a few more years and are waiting for our reinstatement amount to see if it's feasible.

Thanks...!

I'm sorry to say yes. We are going through the exact same thing. I have contacted alot of lenders and most of them require 3 years. Foreclosure is a separate event. I am a vet and they are making me wait 2 years from our foreclosure. And, only 1 of the 6 lenders our broker contacted was only requiring a 2 years seasoning from our foreclosure. The rest required us to wait 3 years to use my VA loan. I'm so sorry. I hope it works out for you. Maybe you can find a lender only requiring 2 years.

Comment

Thanks. Just seems strange that even though we don't technically have a mortgage, a foreclosure can go on our report. We should have just given up our home 2 years ago!

Comment

I am about to go through the same thing, and it just sucks. My kids are 5,6, and 7 right now so it is really hard on me because this is the house they've grown up in all their short lives. It is disheartening to hear about this, but I guess I'd rather know now than get more surprises.

Comment

Originally posted by LoveBubble5 View Post
          I am about to go through the same thing, and it just sucks. My kids are 5,6, and 7 right now so it is really hard on me because this is the house they've grown up in all their short lives. It is disheartening to hear about this, but I guess I'd rather know now than get more surprises.