top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

How long do I have to wait to buy a house after filing bankruptcy?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

by Heatherd on May 31, 2012

Over the course of my career as a bankruptcy attorney, I have learned that most of my clients think they will have to wait until the bankruptcy drops off their credit report (10 years) before they will be able to buy a home. Nothing could be further from the truth.

The length of time you will have to wait to purchase a home will vary with economic conditions. A couple of years ago lenders were not writing mortgage loans, even for those with good credit. Lending has started to ease, but the tide could turn at any time. In short, there is no hard and fast rule concerning the length of time between bankruptcy and qualifying for a mortgage. The economic environment plays a huge factor in whether and when you will be able to buy a home.

In addition to the economic conditions, lenders generally rely on three factors to determine whether you qualify for a mortgage: (1) your FICO score; (2) your income; (3) and your ability to come up with a down payment.

YOUR FICO SCORE: Filing bankruptcy will probably improve your FICO score after a year or two. Most of my clients have poor credit scores by the time they decide to file bankruptcy. Their poor FICO scores are generally a result of late payments or high ratio of debts to equity. Your FICO score may drop immediately after you file bankruptcy, but it should bounce back and even improve within a year or two. Just make sure you don’t incur debts you will not be able to pay.