is it possible to obtain credit cards after bk

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

is it possible to obtain credit cards after bk

i was recently discharged in my ch7 bk & am wondering if its possible to obtain any kind of credit cards after bk with a balance of about 2,000? thanks for your help

I doubt you will get one right out of BK for 2k. The highest I have seen in 1200.00 from other forum members. Mine was $500.00. They just bumped it up to 750.00. I have 4 credit lines ( home, 2Cars, student loans) prior to applying. None of which I have ever been late or missed a payment.

Comment

i doubt you will find one with a $2K limit(unless secured). more like $300-$500 is normal. then again, for me, i dont want any card with a limit over $300 for a while. im still learning to live just on what i make. if i need it, i save. i cant see getting back in debt already, makes no sense. i cant see paying these scam banks one cent in interest ever again. if you have a generous relative, you can borrow, say $2k. tell them you will put the money in a 1 yr CD at some bank. then you take out a credit line using the CD as collateral. this way you get a $2k limit and you can give your relative the interest you earn from the CD, usually after 1 year(of paying off every month), they will revert card to unsecured.

Comment

Nice plan MrSmithster, however there are those of us who would like to be a homeowner again, but wihtout any rebuilding, it can be difficult to obtain a mortgage without a credit history. But what you would like to do is just fine as well.

jturk,
        Getting a CC for $2000, or even $1000 is unlikely after a BK. As the others have said, the average is about $300 to $500, with increases along the way if you use the CC wisely. And keep in mind the lending regulations, so you don't get shocked if you're denied or get approved with a really low limit.
        Bankruptcy History:
        Chapter 7 filed - 10/12/2005 - Asset