Myth or fact: Any payment prevents default

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Myth or fact: Any payment prevents default

I've heard people suggest that even a regular monthly $20 on your student loan will prevent them from being able to place it in default. Even if say your minimum payment were $300. Is this true - that as long as you pay something they can't put you in default?
    Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer nor giving legal advice. Use at your own risk.

Read your loan agreement. Default is usually defined. Generally speaking, default occurs when you fail to make required payment on a loan or are in other material default (such as not keeping insurance). Making a token payment, only resets the Date of Last Activity and extends the Statute of Limitations (SOL).
    Chapter 7 (No Asset/Non-Consumer) Filed (Pro Se) 7/08 (converted from Chapter 13 - 2/10)
    Visit My BKForum Blog: justbroke's Blog

Any advice provided is not legal advice, but simply the musings of a fellow bankrupt.

Comment

I will have to double check...but you do bring up a distinction that is important for student loans.

There is a difference between being Delingquent and being in Default.

If at all possible, you want to avoid being in default as it will limit your options for dealing with the student loans. Being delingquent is ok.

However, off the top of my head, I forget when a student loan is considered in default, but I don't think making token payments prevents it from happening.
      Last edited by HHM; 09-06-2009, 03:51 PM.

Comment

Originally posted by HHM View Post
        I will have to double check...but you do bring up a distinction that is important for student loans.

There is a difference between being Delingquent and being in Default.

If at all possible, you want to avoid being in default as it will limit your options for dealing with the student. Being delingquent is ok.