Looking into BK. Question about income

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Looking into BK. Question about income

My husband and I's income is $4590 and we each do 1099 work roughly 1000 extra a month total. We figured up our permanent expenses of around 3400 but that doesn't account for any entertainment, hair, toiletries. This lawyer did a mock means test and our payment would be like 600 a month. My question is, our 1099 income varies so much, especially mine since I'm a Realtor. I had 3 closings in April so that's distorted my income, years past it's been very low.

I sent him a budget with every expense I could thing of. Dogs, hair, family trips, entertainment, glasses, medical deductible.

I'm wondering if the IRS standard is just what they say sorry with about food, because I'm thinking those food standards aren't really true. There's no way we could eat on 500 a month unless we ate ramen. We can't afford 600 a month, we might as well pay off our debt. He said our disposable income is 2,000 a month, and that's what kinda payment they would want.

Does anyone have any advice?

The IRS food standards are quite accurate. The "national" standard for two people is $583. Combined with out general items, and a $231 misc category, the total for food, clothing, and other items is $1,083 per month for two.