Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Chapter 13 - Two objections by trustee

Hi, all,

I am a sophomore in college posting here on the behalf of my mother, who is not tech-savvy at all. I still live with her. She filed for Chapter 13 on September 22, 2019 (She contracted an attorney who seems pretty solid; I've met with him myself several times), and she had her meeting of creditors two weeks ago today (October 28, 2019). Her confirmation hearing is scheduled for December 3, 2019.

I am just finding out through a letter dated November 1, 2019 that the trustee filed two objections to her proposed Chapter 13 plan.
    - Objection One: "...based on the schedules and plan as filed, the unsecured creditors would receive a greater distribution if the estate of debtor were liquidated under a Chapter Seven bankruptcy. The debtor(s) must continue to provide for the unsecured claims as required by the bankruptcy code or the trustee objects to confirmation."
    - Objection Two: "Based on the information provided, the plan is not feasible...The debtor(s) must continue to provide for the unsecured claims as required by the bankruptcy code or the trustee objects to confirmation."

I am under the impression that the second objection (feasibility) is often overruled by judges. For what it's worth, she was able to make her first payment (which was due on October 22)before the due date without problems.