Chapter 13 it is then!!!??

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Chapter 13 it is then!!!??

I went to see my attorney for the initial consultation, I just assumed that I would be looking at a Chapter 7 and didn't even consider a 13. I had a previous chapter 7 completed 8 years ago, so I knew kind of what to expect. But when she said Chapter 13, I had to get my mind around that. I have a house that has some equity in it, and she said she didn't want me to lose my house, and I completely agree with her. So because I have no experience with a 13, I thought I could come on here and look at some threads and ask some questions. Of course, the threads I have looked at so far, are not good experiences, so they make me a little nervous. Has anyone done a Chapter 13 and it go smoothly? Has anyone filed a 13 and didn't have to pay 100% back? Has a trustee ever denied a Chapter 13 because they didn't think you could afford the payment? My attorney made is seem like a fairly simple process (as simple as bankruptcy can be), I know it isn't pain free, but I just don't want to be stressed for the next 5 years waiting for the trustee to decide I need to pay more money than they thought I would. Any information would be helpful.

I had a relatively pain-free Chapter 13; a few comments (not necessarily in order):​​​​​​
    • My plan was for less than 100% of my unsecured debt
    • I didn't have a house (lost it about a year before I filed)
    • My monthly payment was proposed by my attorney and set around the time of my 341 meeting
    • The only time I had to pay above my monthly payment is when I had a large tax return where I had to pay the Trustee everything above $1,250.
    • Tax returns and what happens to the money varies by locality, some Trustees demand all tax returns, some demand the portion above some preset limit, and others allow you to keep the full return regardless of how large it might be.