stripping 2nd mortgage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

stripping 2nd mortgage

Is it possible to strip a 2nd mortgage and make it go to the unsecured creditors? I owe 220k on the first and 70k on the 2nd. The house is valued at maybe 175-180k. Then possibly when a 5 year repay plan is done I might actually be able to sell it! It is truly a terrible situation so many of us are in
    Filed CH 7 05/06/09
    341 06/12/09
    Last day for objections 08/11/09
    Discharged and CLOSED!! 08/28/09

Talked to my attorney about that same thing yesterday.My you have a small one . My heloc is 242K . you have to get an appraisal, and it will probably end up in a fight with creditor. they will get their own appraisal. I as told most judges don't like to do these. to top it off, you would pay the same payment you make for 5 years into your chapter 13 plan. I'm no expert, but that was what my attorney said.
    Stopped Paying CC's 2/2009. Retained Attorney 1/10/2010 Filed 1/23/2010. Discharged 5/19/10 $187K CC, $240K 2nd,$417K 1st, No asset Ch-7

Comment

Yes, if the house is worth less than you owe on your first mortgage, you can strip the 2nd. It is typically a fight with the 2nd mortgage, but as long as you have ducks in a row, its nothing to be scared of.

I am surprised at albacore's attorney taking such a negative view of the subject. The opposite is actually true, judges are quite inclined to grant these motions.

Comment

Originally posted by HHM View Post
        Yes, if the house is worth less than you owe on your first mortgage, you can strip the 2nd. It is typically a fight with the 2nd mortgage, but as long as you have ducks in a row, its nothing to be scared of.

I am surprised at albacore's attorney taking such a negative view of the subject. The opposite is actually true, judges are quite inclined to grant these motions.