Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question before filing

Hi,
    I am pretty new to this and was wondering if I could get some advice. I am most likely going to file Chapter 13 bankruptcy alone. A little history ~ back in 2004, I allowed someone who I thought was very reliable and a friend to use my name on her business lease. It was only supposed to be for a couple of months but once I started to realize it was a scam, I contacted the lease company but they said there was nothing they could do for me. So, the lady who conned me filed for bankruptcy in late '04 and moved her business to a different location. This left an empty business space under my name only. I didn't have money to hire a lawyer to fight it but it is rearing it's head now that the lease has expired. They are suing me for about $150,000 so I am pretty much forced into bankruptcy. I only have a little credit card debt (less than 10k). Here is my question....me and my husband (married after all of this originated) are having to undergo fertility treatments ($25k) in about 6 months. We do not have savings for this but were going to charge it and pay it off. Would it make more sense for me to do the treatments first and then file bankruptcy so it is included? I don't want to get over on the system but at the same time I feel as though the system has failed me. And I'm worried that once I file, all of our family's disposable income will be put into the bankruptcy and we'd never be able to pay off the fertility treatments? I have a meeting with a lawyer next week but was hoping to get some insight first. Thanks so much!

If your friend used your name on a business lease, that is fraud on her part and you are not responsible for the debt.

Did you personally sign any of the papers?
    Golden Jubilee was a year-long celebration held every 50 years in which all bondmen were freed, mortgaged lands were restored to the original owners, and land was left fallow: Lev. 25:8-17

Comment