2009 Stimulus Check and filing chapter 13

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

2009 Stimulus Check and filing chapter 13

Right now I am about $69 above the median income. I will take unpaid day off so I can get below the median income. I also need to wait until August or September before I file, because I've got annual bonus at the end of January.

Here is my question:
    If they pass 2009 Stimulus checks, will the stimulus check count against my income? If it does, then I will be above the median income and have to do 5 years vs 3 years in chapter 13.

Does anybody know the answer?

Thanks.

Unknown until/if the 2009 checks go out (if they ever do). When the 2008 stimulus checks went out, as I recall it varied from court to court across the country whether the check was counted as income or not, so no help there.
    I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice nor a statement of the law - only a lawyer can provide those.

06/01/06 - Filed Ch 13
    06/28/06 - 341 Meeting
    07/18/06 - Confirmation Hearing - not confirmed, 3 objections
    10/05/06 - Hearing to resolve 2 trustee objections
    01/24/07 - Judge dismisses mortgage company objection
    09/27/07 - Confirmed at last!
    06/10/11 - Trustee confirms all payments made
    08/10/11 - DISCHARGED !

10/02/11 - CASE CLOSED
    Countdown: 60 months paid, 0 months to go

Comment

are they even talking about a 2009 stimilus checks? I haven't heard anything re: that.

Comment

no checks, just a little extra (15$) in your take home pay each check
        60 Month "Old Law"
        Filed 10/4/2004
        Confirmed 1/2005
        Discharged 9/8/2009

Comment

The only people who might get checks are on Social Security.

Comment

Originally posted by JoeBankrupt33 View Post
            The only people who might get checks are on Social Security.