Variable income question?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Variable income question?

I'm an automotive technician by trade and my income varies. I've been preparing to file Chapter 13 for the last 5 months and have been trying to keep my income just below the median income level. My goal is to have a 36 month minimal payment plan.
    How does a Trustee monitor my income in a situation like this? I know I must turn in tax returns at the end of the year, is that when my plan would be reviewed?
    I can control my income to a certain extent (types of jobs, overtime, speed of work, etc, etc...). I cannot control how busy we get so I thought a lower income would be better to work with while starting the plan.
    Which leads me to the next question. How much does the trustee take if my income goes up...Say 10-15% at the end of the year.

Thoughts anybody?
    Don't take life too seriously, you won't get out alive.

Originally posted by vicmost View Post
    How does a Trustee monitor my income in a situation like this? I know I must turn in tax returns at the end of the year, is that when my plan would be reviewed?
    Your Ch 13 trustee can review your plan or anything else related to your filing or finances any time he/she wants to. However, unless you do something to get yourself on their radar after confirmation, that very rarely happens.

Typically if your trustee is one that requires providing copies of your tax returns every year, then there's a review of your income when they receive the copies from your lawyer (or directly from you if that's how the process is done in your local court). Frankly unless there's a significant increase in your income over the year (usually over 10%), then your trustee is likely to leave things as-is.

How much does the trustee take if my income goes up...Say 10-15% at the end of the year.