top Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Chapter 13 Process: Are you forced to liquidate stocks?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Chapter 13 Process: Are you forced to liquidate stocks?

My wife and I are considering filing Chapter 13, but would like to know how this affects our stocks. I'm a newbie to the forum and have done some reading, but haven't found this answer in particular.

Without going into too many details, our income is very good (approx. $100K annually) and we're still afloat, but realize the CC debt is becoming insurmountable (spelling?). Currently, I own stocks that value at approx. $15K but can reasonably expect this will grow to approx. $50 - $100K by December. This amount would definitely pay off most, if not all the CC debt and then some.

The problem is, we're expecting our first child in August and will lose my wife's income after September. Classic "rock and hardplace" situation. I'd love to wait for the stocks to mature and pay off the debt. However, I'm wondering if it's smarter to go into Chapter 13, knowing that I won't be able to keep paying the bills soon.

In general, are you forced to liquidate all assets, including stocks during this process? Also, do you have to wait until you're behind before you can file?

Thanks ahead of time for any feedback! I'd be happy to provide more specifics with regards to the finances if requested.

Unless you can exempt that stock (and other assets) using exemptions for your State... they are property of the Estate and the Trustee will seize them and sell them.
    Chapter 7 (No Asset/Non-Consumer) Filed (Pro Se) 7/08 (converted from Chapter 13 - 2/10)
    Visit My BKForum Blog: justbroke's Blog

Any advice provided is not legal advice, but simply the musings of a fellow bankrupt.

Comment

Thanks for your quick reply...I really appreciate the feedback. I'll continue to read more about this process so that I really understand what options we're facing.