401k contributions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

401k contributions

We're planning on filing ch13 in the near future (October at the earliest). Because of wage reductions, my husband reduced his 401k contribution (from $250/month to $50/month) recently. Should (or can) he return to his pre-wage-reduction contribution prior to filing? Is that contribution considered in the means test? I've read so much information about it all, I think I'm beginning to lose my mind

Thanks!

What % of your husband's income is he contributing now to his 401K every month? And what % of his income was he contributing before?
    I am not a lawyer and this is not legal advice nor a statement of the law - only a lawyer can provide those.

06/01/06 - Filed Ch 13
    06/28/06 - 341 Meeting
    07/18/06 - Confirmation Hearing - not confirmed, 3 objections
    10/05/06 - Hearing to resolve 2 trustee objections
    01/24/07 - Judge dismisses mortgage company objection
    09/27/07 - Confirmed at last!
    06/10/11 - Trustee confirms all payments made
    08/10/11 - DISCHARGED !

10/02/11 - CASE CLOSED
    Countdown: 60 months paid, 0 months to go

Comment

He's contributed 4% for the past several years. In February he took a 10% pay cut, so he reduced his 401k contribution (to about 2.5%), to help make up some of the loss of income. He lost another 5% pay just this month, so he reduced his contribution to ZERO (but it will not take effect until his September 1 paycheck - he only gets paid once a month).

Because he works for the state, there is NO employer matching of his 401k plan. Just in case that information has any impact.

Comment

Originally posted by JenR View Post